Thursday, July 30, 2026

Long Island Sphinx - Blue Point/Bayport

Captain Will Graham, an Irish sculptor and marble worker arrived in America in 1888. Graham built Ye Anchorage Inn in 1897 on the northwest corner of Montauk Highway and Kennedy Avenue in Blue Point. Graham even chronicled his adventures in a personal magazine called The Log, filled with stories, poems, and artwork he created himself.

In the early 1900s, Graham built the Great Sphinx, a 45-ton, one-seventh-scale concrete replica of its Egyptian namesake, as a grand roadside attraction to lure travelers to his retreat. He placed a plaque on the feet of the Sphinx. “She who climbs to the Sphinx’s head a millionaire will surely wed.” Legend has it that Graham and his friends would spend lazy afternoons on a bench nearby, hoping to catch a glimpse of any adventurous young lady who took the challenge.

The inn played host to a who’s who of the era: President Theodore Roosevelt, silent film stars Mary Pickford, and Douglas Fairbanks. Graham was a master promoter. He staged a faux bullfight that drew two thousand spectators and even built an early aeroplane on the grounds.

Will Graham died of pneumonia inside his inn on February 20, 1920, at the age of 57. After his wife passed away, the inn burned down in 1927. The Sphinx, however, survived. It was moved to the side of the property, where the Ferri family operated a gas station from the early 1930s to 1973.

In 1974, the land was sold to a gas station chain called Power Test. During the construction of a new facility, a bulldozer demolished the original buildings and the body of the Sphinx. The massive 10,000-pound head was severed at the brow and neck.

Lou Fontana, who owned a concrete business in Bayport with his brother John happened to be driving by as the destruction occurred. He intervened and asked the bulldozer operator to save the remains of the head. Remarkably, the man agreed. Lou loaded the colossal concrete noggin onto a truck and transported it to his yard on Montauk Highway, where it sat, deteriorating and hidden from public view for seven years.

In the fall of 1981, the Fontana brothers began the painstaking task of restoring the monument. Their efforts drew significant attention, leading to a featured article in Newsday and a broadcast story on WABC-TV in New York City. After nearly two years of hard work, the restoration was completed in May 1983.

Today, the Great Sphinx sits proudly in front of Fontana Concrete Products in Bayport.  The inscription at its base still promises matrimonial wealth to any daring climber, though a modern sign now bluntly adds: “Please KEEP OFF Climbing Sphinx is Prohibited.”


Source:

 

“The Great Long Island Sphinx: A Tale of Concrete, Celebrities, and Second Chances.” Sayville Alumni Association, Inc., 29 July 2026, sayvillealumni.org/the-great-long-island-sphinx-a-tale-of-concrete-celebrities-and-second-chances/.

 

Wednesday, July 15, 2026

Rosemary Farm - Huntington

Missouri based entrepreneur and financier Roland Ray Conklin moved back to his ancestral home of Huntington, purchasing significant acreage in 1893 to build his estate, which he called Rosemary Farm after his daughter. A few years after his home was built, Conklin decided he would make a major change to his property by converting the “bowl-shaped hill” under his luxurious mansion into a massive Amphitheater. With an inspiration of Edward Bouton’s “Rusty Rocks”, Conklin approached the Olmstead brothers again in 1912 to build this arena in his backyard

It wasn’t until 1912, that Conklin asked Olmsted Brothers to transform a sloping bowl on their property into an amphitheater, with semi-circular, turf-covered tiers to seat an audience of nearly three thousand.
Frederick Law Olmsted Jr. took lead on the complicated engineering project, which Conklin envisioned would be an attractive landscape feature when not used for performances. In addition to the difficult engineering, the significant financing put a strain on Olmsted Jr.

Conklin took Olmsted Brothers’ plans and chose to construct the amphitheater on his own, with Olmsted Jr. occasionally providing consultation. After the death of his wife in 1919, Conklin sold the property to the Brooklyn Diocese, who built the Seminary of the Immaculate Conception on the grounds in 1924. The house was destroyed by fire in 1990.

The ampitheater could seat 4,000 people for performances on a stage that was surrounded by a moat with bridges.  There were jets of water that would shoot up acting as a curtain hiding the stage until the performers were ready.  Some of the performers that performed there were: Sarah Bernhardt, Tyrone Powers, John and Ethel Barrymore and John Phillip Sousa.

 

 

Sources:

Durst, Kevin. “Druid Ruins and Amphitheater on Long Island -.” Get Out N About, www.getoutnabout.com/blog/druid-ruins-and-amphitheater-on-long-island-remnants-of-rosemarys-farm. Accessed 15 July 2026

“The Remains of ‘Rosemary Farm’, the Roland Ray Conklin Estate.” Saturn Mondays, saturnmondays.wordpress.com/2025/01/31/the-remains-of-rosemary-farm-the-roland-ray-conklin-estate/. Accessed 15 July 2026

“Rosemary Farm.” National Park Service, www.nps.gov/places/rosemary-farm.htm. Accessed 15 July 2026.